Current time:

New York September 22, 11:13 am
London September 22, 4:13 pm
Hong Kong September 22, 11:13 pm
Sydney September 23, 1:13 am

🇦🇴 Angolan Kwanza (AOA) TradingHours.com

AOA Currency Demographics

The primary country using the Angolan Kwanza is Angola.

The currency code for the Angolan Kwanza is "AOA". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 973. The currency symbol for the Kwanza is "Kz".

There are approximately 35,588,987 people around the world who use the Angolan Kwanza. The Angolan Kwanza is the #40 most used widely currency is the world.

35,588,987 user population
Ranked #40 in the world

AOA Exchange Rates

1 Angolan Kwanza equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.0019

Inverse: Kz533.68
Euro

€0.0011

Inverse: Kz884.90
British Pound

£0.00098

Inverse: Kz1,020.18
Indian Rupee

₹0.100

Inverse: Kz10.017
Japanese Yen

¥0.18

Inverse: Kz5.61
US Dollar

$0.0012

Inverse: Kz830.50

† Rates last updated at 10 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

AOA Currency Facts

AOA Details

ISO 4217 CodeAOA
ISO 4217 Number973
Unit NameKwanza
SymbolKz
Currency NicknamesN.a.

AOA Denominations

Minor Unit NameN.a.
Minor Unit Symbol N.a.
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotesKz50, Kz100, Kz200, Kz500, Kz1000, Kz2000, Kz5000, Kz10
Rarely Used BanknotesN.a.
Frequently Used CoinsKz1, Kz2, Kz5, 10, 50
Rarely Used CoinsN.a.

AOA Issuance

Central BankBanco Nacional de Angola
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.bna.ao

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population35,588,987 people
Population Rank#40
AOA Inflation RateN.a.
Inflation Rank#7

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2023 AOA Currency Holidays

AOA Currency History

The Angolan Kwanza was created in December 1999. The table below shows the history of currencies that ultimately became the Angolan Kwanza.

Currency Active Replaced By
Angolan kwanza readjustado (AOR) July 1995 to November 1999 AOA
Angolan new kwanza (AON) September 1990 to June 1995 AOR
Angolan kwanza (AOK) January 1977 to September 1990 AON