Current time:

New York February 28, 11:13 pm
London February 29, 4:13 am
Hong Kong February 29, 12:13 pm
Sydney February 29, 3:13 pm

🇧🇬 Bulgarian Lev (BGN) TradingHours.com

BGN Currency Demographics

The primary country using the Bulgarian Lev is Bulgaria.

The currency code for the Bulgarian Lev is "BGN". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 975. The currency symbol for the Lev is "лв".

There are approximately 6,465,097 people around the world who use the Bulgarian Lev. The Bulgarian Lev is the #93 most used widely currency is the world.

6,465,097 user population
Ranked #93 in the world

BGN Exchange Rates

1 Bulgarian Lev equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.85

Inverse: лв1.17
Euro

€0.51

Inverse: лв1.96
British Pound

£0.44

Inverse: лв2.28
Indian Rupee

₹45.94

Inverse: лв0.022
Japanese Yen

¥83.51

Inverse: лв0.012
US Dollar

$0.55

Inverse: лв1.80

† Rates last updated at 10 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

BGN Currency Facts

BGN Details

ISO 4217 CodeBGN
ISO 4217 Number975
Unit NameLev
Symbolлв
Currency NicknamesKint (masc), Kinta (fem)

BGN Denominations

Minor Unit NameStotinki
Minor Unit Symbol стотинки
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotesлв2, лв5, лв10, лв20, лв50, лв100
Rarely Used Banknotesлв1
Frequently Used Coinsлв1, стотинки1, стотинки2, стотинки5, стотинки10, стотинки20, стотинки50
Rarely Used CoinsN.a.

BGN Issuance

Central BankBulgarian National Bank
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.bnb.bg

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population6,465,097 people
Population Rank#93
BGN Inflation Rate15.33%
Inflation Rank#21

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2024 BGN Currency Holidays

No holidays available

BGN Currency History

The Bulgarian Lev was created in September 1999. The table below shows the history of currencies that ultimately became the Bulgarian Lev.

Currency Active Replaced By
Bulgarian lev (BGL) January 1962 to August 1999 BGN