Current time:

New York December 2, 10:54 am
London December 2, 3:54 pm
Hong Kong December 2, 11:54 pm
Sydney December 3, 2:54 am

🇬🇭 Ghanaian Cedi (GHS) TradingHours.com

GHS Currency Demographics

The primary country using the Ghanaian Cedi is Ghana.

The currency code for the Ghanaian Cedi is "GHS". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 936. The currency symbol for the Cedi is "GH¢".

There are approximately 33,475,870 people around the world who use the Ghanaian Cedi. The Ghanaian Cedi is the #44 most used widely currency is the world.

33,475,870 user population
Ranked #44 in the world

GHS Exchange Rates

1 Ghanaian Cedi equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.12

Inverse: GH¢8.0073
Euro

€0.076

Inverse: GH¢13.075
British Pound

£0.066

Inverse: GH¢15.25
Indian Rupee

₹6.93

Inverse: GH¢0.14
Japanese Yen

¥12.22

Inverse: GH¢0.082
US Dollar

$0.083

Inverse: GH¢12.010

† Rates last updated at 9 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

GHS Currency Facts

GHS Details

ISO 4217 CodeGHS
ISO 4217 Number936
Unit NameCedi
SymbolGH¢
Currency NicknamesN.a.

GHS Denominations

Minor Unit NamePesewa
Minor Unit Symbol Gp
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotesGH¢5, GH¢10, GH¢20, GH¢50, GH¢1
Rarely Used BanknotesN.a.
Frequently Used CoinsGH¢1, 10Gp, 20Gp, 50Gp
Rarely Used CoinsN.a.

GHS Issuance

Central BankBank of Ghana
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.bog.gov.gh

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population33,475,870 people
Population Rank#44
GHS Inflation Rate31.26%
Inflation Rank#8

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2023-2024 GHS Currency Holidays

No holidays available

GHS Currency History

The Ghanaian Cedi was created in July 2007. The table below shows the history of currencies that ultimately became the Ghanaian Cedi.

Currency Active Replaced By
Ghanaian cedi (GHC) January 1967 to July 2007 GHS