Current time:

New York December 10, 9:46 am
London December 10, 2:46 pm
Jerusalem December 10, 4:46 pm
Hong Kong December 10, 10:46 pm

🇮🇱 Israeli Shekel (ILS) TradingHours.com

ILS Currency Demographics

The primary country using the Israeli Shekel is Israel.

Note: Also used by the Palestinian Authority.

The currency code for the Israeli Shekel is "ILS". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 376. The currency symbol for the Shekel is "₪".

There are approximately 9,550,600 people around the world who use the Israeli Shekel. The Israeli Shekel is the #81 most used widely currency is the world.

9,550,600 user population
Ranked #81 in the world

ILS Exchange Rates

1 Israeli Shekel equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.41

Inverse: ₪2.44
Euro

€0.25

Inverse: ₪3.99
British Pound

£0.22

Inverse: ₪4.65
Indian Rupee

₹22.51

Inverse: ₪0.044
Japanese Yen

¥39.089

Inverse: ₪0.026
US Dollar

$0.27

Inverse: ₪3.71

† Rates last updated at 8 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

ILS Currency Facts

ILS Details

ISO 4217 CodeILS
ISO 4217 Number376
Unit NameShekel
Symbol
Currency NicknamesN.a.

ILS Denominations

Minor Unit Nameagora
Minor Unit Symbol N.a.
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotes₪20, ₪50, ₪100, ₪200
Rarely Used BanknotesN.a.
Frequently Used Coins₪0, ₪2, ₪5, ₪10
Rarely Used CoinsN.a.

ILS Issuance

Central BankBank of Israel
Central Bank Websitehttps://www.boi.org.il/

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population9,550,600 people
Population Rank#81
ILS Inflation Rate4.39%
Inflation Rank#103

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2023-2024 ILS Currency Holidays

Name Date
Purim Tuesday, March 7, 2023 (past)
Purim Wednesday, March 8, 2023 (past)
Passover Wednesday, April 5, 2023 (past)
Passover Thursday, April 6, 2023 (past)
Passover Wednesday, April 12, 2023 (past)
Independence Day Wednesday, April 26, 2023 (past)
Pentecost Friday, May 26, 2023 (past)
Fast Day Thursday, July 27, 2023 (past)
Rosh Hashanah Friday, September 15, 2023 (past)
Yom Kippur Monday, September 25, 2023 (past)
Election Day Tuesday, October 31, 2023 (past)
Purim Monday, March 25, 2024
Passover Monday, April 22, 2024
Passover Tuesday, April 23, 2024
Passover Monday, April 29, 2024
Independence Day Tuesday, May 14, 2024
Pentecost Wednesday, June 12, 2024
Fast Day Tuesday, August 13, 2024
Rosh Hashanah Wednesday, October 2, 2024
Rosh Hashanah Thursday, October 3, 2024
Rosh Hashanah Friday, October 4, 2024
Yom Kippur Friday, October 11, 2024
Festival of Tabernacles Thursday, October 17, 2024
Simchat Torah Thursday, October 24, 2024

ILS Currency History

The Israeli Shekel was created in January 1986. The table below shows the history of currencies that ultimately became the Israeli Shekel.

Currency Active Replaced By
Israeli shekel (ILR) February 1980 to December 1985 ILS
Israeli lira (ILP) January 1948 to February 1980 ILR