Current time:

New York April 24, 12:13 pm
London April 24, 5:13 pm
Hong Kong April 25, 12:13 am
Sydney April 25, 2:13 am

🇲🇬 Malagasy Ariary (MGA) TradingHours.com

MGA Currency Demographics

The primary country using the Malagasy Ariary is Madagascar.

The currency code for the Malagasy Ariary is "MGA". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 969. The currency symbol for the Ariary is "Ar".

There are approximately 29,611,714 people around the world who use the Malagasy Ariary. The Malagasy Ariary is the #47 most used widely currency is the world.

29,611,714 user population
Ranked #47 in the world

MGA Exchange Rates

1 Malagasy Ariary equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.00035

Inverse: Ar2,874.43
Euro

€0.00021

Inverse: Ar4,721.13
British Pound

£0.00018

Inverse: Ar5,492.71
Indian Rupee

₹0.019

Inverse: Ar52.96
Japanese Yen

¥0.035

Inverse: Ar28.48
US Dollar

$0.00023

Inverse: Ar4,410.083

† Rates last updated at 11 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

MGA Currency Facts

MGA Details

ISO 4217 CodeMGA
ISO 4217 Number969
Unit NameAriary
SymbolAr
Currency NicknamesN.a.

MGA Denominations

Minor Unit NameN.a.
Minor Unit Symbol N.a.
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotesAr100, Ar200, Ar500, Ar1000, Ar2000, Ar5000, Ar10000
Rarely Used BanknotesN.a.
Frequently Used CoinsAr1, Ar2, Ar4, Ar5, Ar10, Ar20, Ar50, 1, 25
Rarely Used CoinsN.a.

MGA Issuance

Central BankBanque Centrale de Madagascar
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.banque-centrale.mg

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population29,611,714 people
Population Rank#47
MGA Inflation Rate8.16%
Inflation Rank#65

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2024 MGA Currency Holidays

No holidays available

MGA Currency History

The Malagasy Ariary was created in January 2005. The table below shows the history of currencies that ultimately became the Malagasy Ariary.

Currency Active Replaced By
Malagasy franc (MGF) July 1963 to January 2005 MGA