Current time:

Mexico City December 2, 10:06 am
New York December 2, 11:06 am
London December 2, 4:06 pm
Hong Kong December 3, 12:06 am

🇲🇽 Mexican Peso (MXN) TradingHours.com

MXN Currency Demographics

The primary country using the Mexican Peso is Mexico.

The currency code for the Mexican Peso is "MXN". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 484. The currency symbol for the Peso is "$".

There are approximately 127,504,125 people around the world who use the Mexican Peso. The Mexican Peso is the #12 most used widely currency is the world.

127,504,125 user population
Ranked #12 in the world

MXN Exchange Rates

1 Mexican Peso equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.087

Inverse: $11.46
Euro

€0.053

Inverse: $18.71
British Pound

£0.046

Inverse: $21.82
Indian Rupee

₹4.84

Inverse: $0.21
Japanese Yen

¥8.54

Inverse: $0.12
US Dollar

$0.058

Inverse: $17.19

† Rates last updated at 10 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

MXN Currency Facts

MXN Details

ISO 4217 CodeMXN
ISO 4217 Number484
Unit NamePeso
Symbol$
Currency Nicknameslana, varos, plata, bolas, lucas, feria, billete, pachocha, billullos, villancicos, villanos, del águila, morlacos, papiros, Marmaja

MXN Denominations

Minor Unit Namecent
Minor Unit Symbol ¢
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotes$20, $50, $100, $200, $500, $1000
Rarely Used BanknotesN.a.
Frequently Used Coins$1, $2, $5, $10, 50¢
Rarely Used Coins$20, $50, $100, 5, 10, 20

MXN Issuance

Central BankBank of Mexico
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.banxico.org.mx

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population127,504,125 people
Population Rank#12
MXN Inflation Rate7.90%
Inflation Rank#66

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2023-2024 MXN Currency Holidays

Name Date
Constitution Day Monday, February 6, 2023 (past)
Benito Juarez's Birthday Monday, March 20, 2023 (past)
Maundy Thursday Thursday, April 6, 2023 (past)
Good Friday Friday, April 7, 2023 (past)
Labor Day Monday, May 1, 2023 (past)
Independence Day Saturday, September 16, 2023 (past)
All Souls' Day Thursday, November 2, 2023 (past)
Revolution Day Monday, November 20, 2023 (past)
Bank Holiday Tuesday, December 12, 2023
Christmas Day Monday, December 25, 2023
New Year's Day Monday, January 1, 2024
Constitution Day Monday, February 5, 2024
Benito Juarez's Birthday Monday, March 18, 2024
Maundy Thursday Thursday, March 28, 2024
Good Friday Friday, March 29, 2024
Labor Day Wednesday, May 1, 2024
Independence Day Monday, September 16, 2024
Revolution Day Monday, November 18, 2024
Bank Holiday Thursday, December 12, 2024
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25, 2024

MXN Currency History

The Mexican Peso was created in April 1993. The table below shows the history of currencies that ultimately became the Mexican Peso.

Currency Active Replaced By
Mexican peso (MXP) unknown to March 1993 MXN