Current time:

New York December 1, 3:45 pm
London December 1, 8:45 pm
Bucharest December 1, 10:45 pm
Hong Kong December 2, 4:45 am

🇷🇴 Romanian Leu (RON) TradingHours.com

RON Currency Demographics

The primary country using the Romanian Leu is Romania.

The currency code for the Romanian Leu is "RON". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 946. The currency symbol for the Leu is "lei".

There are approximately 18,956,666 people around the world who use the Romanian Leu. The Romanian Leu is the #57 most used widely currency is the world.

18,956,666 user population
Ranked #57 in the world

RON Exchange Rates

1 Romanian Leu equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.33

Inverse: lei3.047
Euro

€0.20

Inverse: lei4.97
British Pound

£0.17

Inverse: lei5.80
Indian Rupee

₹18.23

Inverse: lei0.055
Japanese Yen

¥32.16

Inverse: lei0.031
US Dollar

$0.22

Inverse: lei4.57

† Rates last updated at 2 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

RON Currency Facts

RON Details

ISO 4217 CodeRON
ISO 4217 Number946
Unit NameLeu
Symbollei
Currency NicknamesN.a.

RON Denominations

Minor Unit NameN.a.
Minor Unit Symbol N.a.
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknoteslei1, lei5, lei10, lei50, lei100
Rarely Used Banknoteslei200, lei500
Frequently Used Coins10, 50
Rarely Used Coins1, 5

RON Issuance

Central BankNational Bank of Romania
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.bnro.ro/Home.aspx

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population18,956,666 people
Population Rank#57
RON Inflation Rate13.80%
Inflation Rank#30

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2023-2024 RON Currency Holidays

Name Date
New Year's Day Monday, January 2, 2023 (past)
Unification Day Tuesday, January 24, 2023 (past)
Good Friday Friday, April 14, 2023 (past)
Easter Monday, April 17, 2023 (past)
Labor Day Monday, May 1, 2023 (past)
Childrens' Day Thursday, June 1, 2023 (past)
Pentecost Monday, June 5, 2023 (past)
Assumption Day Tuesday, August 15, 2023 (past)
St. Andrew's Day Thursday, November 30, 2023 (past)
National Day Friday, December 1, 2023
Christmas Monday, December 25, 2023
Christmas Tuesday, December 26, 2023
New Year's Day Monday, January 1, 2024
New Year's Day Tuesday, January 2, 2024
Unification Day Wednesday, January 24, 2024
Labor Day Wednesday, May 1, 2024
Good Friday Friday, May 3, 2024
Easter Monday, May 6, 2024
Pentecost Monday, June 24, 2024
Assumption Day Thursday, August 15, 2024
Christmas Wednesday, December 25, 2024
Christmas Thursday, December 26, 2024

RON Currency History

The Romanian Leu was created in January 2006. The table below shows the history of currencies that ultimately became the Romanian Leu.

Currency Active Replaced By
Romanian leu (ROL) January 1952 to December 2005 RON