Current time:

New York December 8, 11:23 am
London December 8, 4:23 pm
Hong Kong December 9, 12:23 am
Sydney December 9, 3:23 am

🇺🇬 Ugandan Shilling (UGX) TradingHours.com

UGX Currency Demographics

The primary country using the Ugandan Shilling is Uganda.

The currency code for the Ugandan Shilling is "UGX". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 800. The currency symbol for the Shilling is "UGX".

There are approximately 47,249,585 people around the world who use the Ugandan Shilling. The Ugandan Shilling is the #28 most used widely currency is the world.

47,249,585 user population
Ranked #28 in the world

UGX Exchange Rates

1 Ugandan Shilling equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.00040

Inverse: UGX2,491.68
Euro

€0.00025

Inverse: UGX4,063.49
British Pound

£0.00021

Inverse: UGX4,743.18
Indian Rupee

₹0.022

Inverse: UGX45.19
Japanese Yen

¥0.038

Inverse: UGX26.18
US Dollar

$0.00027

Inverse: UGX3,768.076

† Rates last updated at 10 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

UGX Currency Facts

UGX Details

ISO 4217 CodeUGX
ISO 4217 Number800
Unit NameShilling
SymbolUGX
Currency NicknamesN.a.

UGX Denominations

Minor Unit NameN.a.
Minor Unit Symbol N.a.
Minor UnitsN.a.
Frequently Used banknotesUGX1000, UGX2000, UGX5000, UGX10, UGX20, UGX50
Rarely Used BanknotesN.a.
Frequently Used CoinsUGX1, UGX2, 5, 10, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000
Rarely Used CoinsN.a.

UGX Issuance

Central BankBank of Uganda
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.bou.or.ug

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population47,249,585 people
Population Rank#28
UGX Inflation Rate7.20%
Inflation Rank#73

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2023-2024 UGX Currency Holidays

No holidays available

UGX Currency History

The Ugandan Shilling was created in January 1988. The table below shows the history of currencies that ultimately became the Ugandan Shilling.

Currency Active Replaced By
Ugandan shilling (UGS) unknown to December 1987 UGX