🇿🇦 South African Rand (ZAR) TradingHours.com

ZAR Currency Demographics

The primary country using the South African Rand is South Africa. The South African Rand is also used in Lesotho and Namibia.

The currency code for the South African Rand is "ZAR". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 710. The currency symbol for the Rand is "R".

There are approximately 64,788,407 people around the world who use the South African Rand. The South African Rand is the #21 most used widely currency is the world.

64,788,407 user population
Ranked #21 in the world

ZAR Exchange Rates

1 South African Rand equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.083

Inverse: R12.11
Euro

€0.051

Inverse: R19.64
British Pound

£0.045

Inverse: R22.31
Indian Rupee

₹4.54

Inverse: R0.22
Japanese Yen

¥7.32

Inverse: R0.14
US Dollar

$0.055

Inverse: R18.12

† Rates last updated at 46 minutes ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

ZAR Currency Facts

ZAR Details

ISO 4217 CodeZAR
ISO 4217 Number710
Unit NameRand
SymbolR
Currency NicknamesN.a.

ZAR Denominations

Minor Unit Namecent
Minor Unit Symbol ¢
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotesR10, R20, R50, R100, R200
Rarely Used BanknotesN.a.
Frequently Used CoinsR1, R2, R5, 5c, 10c, 20c
Rarely Used CoinsN.a.

ZAR Issuance

Central BankSouth African Reserve Bank
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.reservebank.co.za

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population64,788,407 people
Population Rank#21
ZAR Inflation Rate4.61%
Inflation Rank#55

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2023 ZAR Currency Holidays

Name Date
New Year's Day Sunday, January 1, 2023 (past)
New Year's Day Monday, January 2, 2023 (past)
Human Rights Day Tuesday, March 21, 2023 (past)
Good Friday Friday, April 7, 2023
Family Day Monday, April 10, 2023
Freedom Day Thursday, April 27, 2023
Workers' Day Monday, May 1, 2023
Youth Day Friday, June 16, 2023
Women's Day Wednesday, August 9, 2023
Heritage Day Sunday, September 24, 2023
Heritage Day Monday, September 25, 2023
Day of Reconciliation Saturday, December 16, 2023
Christmas Day Monday, December 25, 2023
Boxing Day Tuesday, December 26, 2023