Current time:

New York May 19, 8:43 pm
London May 20, 1:43 am
Johannesburg May 20, 2:43 am
Hong Kong May 20, 8:43 am

🇿🇦 South African Rand (ZAR) TradingHours.com

ZAR Currency Demographics

The primary country using the South African Rand is South Africa. The South African Rand is also used in Lesotho and Namibia.

The currency code for the South African Rand is "ZAR". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 710. The currency symbol for the Rand is "R".

There are approximately 64,766,722 people around the world who use the South African Rand. The South African Rand is the #23 most used widely currency is the world.

64,766,722 user population
Ranked #23 in the world

ZAR Exchange Rates

1 South African Rand equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.083

Inverse: R12.12
Euro

€0.051

Inverse: R19.69
British Pound

£0.044

Inverse: R22.89
Indian Rupee

₹4.61

Inverse: R0.22
Japanese Yen

¥8.61

Inverse: R0.12
US Dollar

$0.055

Inverse: R18.074

† Rates last updated at 7 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

ZAR Currency Facts

ZAR Details

ISO 4217 CodeZAR
ISO 4217 Number710
Unit NameRand
SymbolR
Currency NicknamesN.a.

ZAR Denominations

Minor Unit Namecent
Minor Unit Symbol ¢
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotesR10, R20, R50, R100, R200
Rarely Used BanknotesN.a.
Frequently Used CoinsR1, R2, R5, 5c, 10c, 20c
Rarely Used CoinsN.a.

ZAR Issuance

Central BankSouth African Reserve Bank
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.reservebank.co.za

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population64,766,722 people
Population Rank#23
ZAR Inflation Rate7.040%
Inflation Rank#79

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2024 ZAR Currency Holidays

Name Date
New Year's Day Monday, January 1, 2024 (past)
Human Rights Day Thursday, March 21, 2024 (past)
Good Friday Friday, March 29, 2024 (past)
Family Day Monday, April 1, 2024 (past)
Freedom Day Saturday, April 27, 2024 (past)
Workers' Day Wednesday, May 1, 2024 (past)
Youth Day Sunday, June 16, 2024
Youth Day Monday, June 17, 2024
Women's Day Friday, August 9, 2024
Heritage Day Tuesday, September 24, 2024
Day of Reconciliation Monday, December 16, 2024
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25, 2024
Boxing Day Thursday, December 26, 2024