NSE Market Holidays


2016 India National Stock Exchange Holidays

The India National Stock Exchange (NSE) is a stock exchange located in Mumbai, India.

The India National Stock Exchange is open five days per week for 6.3 hours per day and is closed for twenty-four holidays in 2016.

All holidays listed below are the observed date, not the actual date. For example, if Christmas Day falls on a weekend many stock exchanges will close on the Friday before or the Monday after. Exchanges sometimes close multiple days for a holiday or have modified hours instead of fully closing.

This section contains holidays for all years from 2016 to 2022. Click the tabs below to navigate to different years.

When is the Next India National Stock Exchange Holiday?

The next India National Stock Exchange holiday is Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti and will be observed on October 2, 2020 which is 3 months from now.

List of 2016 India National Stock Exchange Market Holidays (24)

Year Holiday Name Observed Date Status
2016 Republic Day January 26, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Birth Anniversary of Chhatrapati Shivaji February 19, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Maha Shivratri Day March 7, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Holi March 24, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Good Friday March 25, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Bank Holiday April 1, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Gudi Padwa April 8, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Dr. Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti April 14, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Ram Navami April 15, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Mahavir Jayanti April 19, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Maharashtra Day May 1, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Eid al-Fitr July 6, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Independence Day August 15, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Persian New Year August 17, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Ganesh Chaturthi September 5, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Eid al-Adha September 13, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti October 2, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Dussehra October 11, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Islamic New Year October 12, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Diwali October 30, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Diwali October 31, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Guru Nanak Jayanti November 14, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Mawlid December 12, 2016 Closed (passed)
2016 Christmas December 25, 2016 Closed (passed)

† Indicates the stock exchange is closed on a different day than the official date on which the holiday is typically celebrated. This is typically the case when a holiday falls on a non-business day.

‡ Indicates that the stock exchange has special hours due to a holiday rather than a full closure. Special Hours and Holiday Closures are always taken into account when computing the Opening/Closing Bell Countdown.