Current time:

New York October 3, 7:36 am
Sao Paulo October 3, 8:36 am
London October 3, 12:36 pm
Hong Kong October 3, 7:36 pm

🇧🇷 Brazilian Real (BRL) TradingHours.com

BRL Currency Demographics

The primary country using the Brazilian Real is Brazil.

The currency code for the Brazilian Real is "BRL". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 986. The currency symbol for the Real is "R$".

There are approximately 215,313,498 people around the world who use the Brazilian Real. The Brazilian Real is the #8 most used widely currency is the world.

215,313,498 user population
Ranked #8 in the world

BRL Exchange Rates

1 Brazilian Real equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.31

Inverse: R$3.20
Euro

€0.19

Inverse: R$5.30
British Pound

£0.16

Inverse: R$6.11
Indian Rupee

₹16.43

Inverse: R$0.061
Japanese Yen

¥29.60

Inverse: R$0.034
US Dollar

$0.20

Inverse: R$5.063

† Rates last updated at 6 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

BRL Currency Facts

BRL Details

ISO 4217 CodeBRL
ISO 4217 Number986
Unit NameReal
SymbolR$
Currency NicknamesReal

BRL Denominations

Minor Unit NameN.a.
Minor Unit Symbol N.a.
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotesR$5, R$10, R$20, R$50, R$100
Rarely Used BanknotesR$2
Frequently Used CoinsR$1, 5, 10, 25, 50
Rarely Used CoinsN.a.

BRL Issuance

Central BankBanco Central Do Brasil
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.bcb.gov.br/?english

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population215,313,498 people
Population Rank#8
BRL Inflation Rate9.28%
Inflation Rank#50

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2023 BRL Currency Holidays

Name Date
Carnival Monday, February 20, 2023 (past)
Carnival Tuesday, February 21, 2023 (past)
Good Friday Friday, April 7, 2023 (past)
Tiradentes Day Friday, April 21, 2023 (past)
Labor Day Monday, May 1, 2023 (past)
Corpus Christi Day Thursday, June 8, 2023 (past)
Independence Day Thursday, September 7, 2023 (past)
Our Lady of Aparecida Day Thursday, October 12, 2023
All Souls' Day Thursday, November 2, 2023
Republic Day Wednesday, November 15, 2023
Christmas Monday, December 25, 2023
Bank Holiday Friday, December 29, 2023

BRL Currency History

The Brazilian Real was created in July 1994. The table below shows the history of currencies that ultimately became the Brazilian Real.

Currency Active Replaced By
Brazilian cruzeiro real (BRR) August 1993 to June 1994 BRL
Brazilian cruzeiro (BRE) March 1990 to August 1993 BRR
Brazilian cruzado novo (BRN) January 1989 to March 1990 BRE
Brazilian cruzado (BRC) February 1986 to January 1989 BRN
Brazilian cruzeiro (BRB) January 1970 to February 1986 BRC