Current time:

New York May 24, 7:24 am
London May 24, 12:24 pm
Kolkata May 24, 4:54 pm
Hong Kong May 24, 7:24 pm

🇮🇳 Indian Rupee (INR) TradingHours.com

INR Currency Demographics

The primary country using the Indian Rupee is India. The Indian Rupee is also used in Bhutan.

The currency code for the Indian Rupee is "INR". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 356. The currency symbol for the Rupee is "₹".

There are approximately 1,417,955,628 people around the world who use the Indian Rupee. The Indian Rupee is the #1 most used widely currency is the world.

1,417,955,628 user population
Ranked #1 in the world

INR Exchange Rates

1 Indian Rupee equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.018

Inverse: ₹54.91
Canadian Dollar

$0.017

Inverse: ₹60.57
Euro

€0.011

Inverse: ₹89.93
British Pound

£0.0095

Inverse: ₹105.60
Japanese Yen

¥1.89

Inverse: ₹0.53
US Dollar

$0.012

Inverse: ₹83.20

† Rates last updated at 6 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

INR Currency Facts

INR Details

ISO 4217 CodeINR
ISO 4217 Number356
Unit NameRupee
Symbol
Currency NicknamesTaaka, Rupayya, Rūbāi, Athanni (for 50 Paise coins)

INR Denominations

Minor Unit Namepaisa
Minor Unit Symbol p
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotes₹5, ₹10, ₹20, ₹50, ₹100, ₹500, ₹2000, ₹200
Rarely Used Banknotes₹1, ₹2
Frequently Used Coins₹1, ₹2, ₹5, ₹10, p50
Rarely Used CoinsN.a.

INR Issuance

Central BankReserve Bank of India
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.rbi.org.in

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population1,417,955,628 people
Population Rank#1
INR Inflation Rate6.70%
Inflation Rank#83

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2024 INR Currency Holidays

Name Date
Bank Holiday Monday, January 22, 2024 (past)
Republic Day Friday, January 26, 2024 (past)
Birth Anniversary of Chhatrapati Shivaji Monday, February 19, 2024 (past)
Maha Shivratri Day Friday, March 8, 2024 (past)
Holi Monday, March 25, 2024 (past)
Good Friday Friday, March 29, 2024 (past)
Bank Holiday Monday, April 1, 2024 (past)
Gudi Padwa Tuesday, April 9, 2024 (past)
Eid al-Fitr Thursday, April 11, 2024 (past)
Rama Navami Wednesday, April 17, 2024 (past)
Maharashtra Day Wednesday, May 1, 2024 (past)
Vesak Day Thursday, May 23, 2024 (past)
Eid al-Adha Monday, June 17, 2024
Islamic New Year Wednesday, July 17, 2024
Independence Day Thursday, August 15, 2024
Mawlid Monday, September 16, 2024
Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti Wednesday, October 2, 2024
Diwali Friday, November 1, 2024
Guru Nanak Jayanti Friday, November 15, 2024
Christmas Wednesday, December 25, 2024