Current time:

New York April 23, 7:17 am
London April 23, 12:17 pm
Hong Kong April 23, 7:17 pm
Tokyo April 23, 8:17 pm

🇯🇵 Japanese Yen (JPY) TradingHours.com

JPY Currency Demographics

The primary country using the Japanese Yen is Japan.

The currency code for the Japanese Yen is "JPY". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 392. The currency symbol for the Yen is "¥".

There are approximately 125,124,989 people around the world who use the Japanese Yen. The Japanese Yen is the #13 most used widely currency is the world.

125,124,989 user population
Ranked #13 in the world

JPY Exchange Rates

1 Japanese Yen equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.010

Inverse: ¥99.95
Canadian Dollar

$0.0089

Inverse: ¥112.96
Euro

€0.0061

Inverse: ¥164.88
British Pound

£0.0052

Inverse: ¥191.12
Indian Rupee

₹0.54

Inverse: ¥1.86
US Dollar

$0.0065

Inverse: ¥154.74

† Rates last updated at 6 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

JPY Currency Facts

JPY Details

ISO 4217 CodeJPY
ISO 4217 Number392
Unit NameYen
Symbol¥
Currency NicknamesN.a.

JPY Denominations

Minor Unit Namesen
Minor Unit Symbol
Minor UnitsN.a.
Frequently Used banknotes¥1000, ¥5000, ¥10000
Rarely Used Banknotes¥2000
Frequently Used Coins¥1, ¥5, ¥10, ¥50, ¥100, ¥500
Rarely Used CoinsN.a.

JPY Issuance

Central BankBank of Japan
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.boj.or.jp

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population125,124,989 people
Population Rank#13
JPY Inflation Rate2.50%
Inflation Rank#120

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2024 JPY Currency Holidays

Name Date
New Year's Day Monday, January 1, 2024 (past)
Bank Holiday Tuesday, January 2, 2024 (past)
Bank Holiday Wednesday, January 3, 2024 (past)
Old Age Day Monday, January 8, 2024 (past)
National Day Monday, February 12, 2024 (past)
Emperor's Birthday Friday, February 23, 2024 (past)
Vernal Equinox Wednesday, March 20, 2024 (past)
Showa Day Monday, April 29, 2024
Constitution Day Friday, May 3, 2024
Children's Day Monday, May 6, 2024
Marine Day Monday, July 15, 2024
Mountain Day Monday, August 12, 2024
Old Age Day Monday, September 16, 2024
Autumnal Equinox Monday, September 23, 2024
Sports Day Monday, October 14, 2024
Culture Day Monday, November 4, 2024
Bank Holiday Tuesday, December 31, 2024