Current time:

New York April 23, 6:33 am
London April 23, 11:33 am
Istanbul April 23, 1:33 pm
Hong Kong April 23, 6:33 pm

🇹🇷 Turkish Lira (TRY) TradingHours.com

TRY Currency Demographics

The primary country using the Turkish Lira is Turkey.

The currency code for the Turkish Lira is "TRY". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 949.

There are approximately 85,341,241 people around the world who use the Turkish Lira. The Turkish Lira is the #19 most used widely currency is the world.

85,341,241 user population
Ranked #19 in the world

TRY Exchange Rates

1 Turkish Lira equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.047

Inverse: 21.056
Euro

€0.029

Inverse: 34.74
British Pound

£0.025

Inverse: 40.26
Indian Rupee

₹2.56

Inverse: 0.39
Japanese Yen

¥4.75

Inverse: 0.21
US Dollar

$0.031

Inverse: 32.60

† Rates last updated at 5 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

TRY Currency Facts

TRY Details

ISO 4217 CodeTRY
ISO 4217 Number949
Unit NameLira
SymbolN.a.
Currency NicknamesKağıt, Mangır, Papel

TRY Denominations

Minor Unit Namekuruş
Minor Unit Symbol Kr
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotes5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200
Rarely Used BanknotesN.a.
Frequently Used Coins1, 5Kr, 10Kr, 25Kr, 50Kr
Rarely Used Coins1Kr

TRY Issuance

Central BankCentral Bank of the Republic of Turkey
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.tcmb.gov.tr

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population85,341,241 people
Population Rank#19
TRY Inflation Rate72.31%
Inflation Rank#4

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2024 TRY Currency Holidays

Name Date
New Year's Day Monday, January 1, 2024 (past)
Eid al-Fitr Tuesday, April 9, 2024 (past)
Eid al-Fitr Wednesday, April 10, 2024 (past)
Eid al-Fitr Thursday, April 11, 2024 (past)
Eid al-Fitr Friday, April 12, 2024 (past)
Children's Day Tuesday, April 23, 2024
Labor Day Wednesday, May 1, 2024
Commemoration of Ataturk, Youth and Sports Day Sunday, May 19, 2024
Eid al-Adha Monday, June 17, 2024
Eid al-Adha Tuesday, June 18, 2024
Eid al-Adha Wednesday, June 19, 2024
Democracy and National Unity Day Monday, July 15, 2024
National Day Friday, August 30, 2024
Republic Day Monday, October 28, 2024
Republic Day Tuesday, October 29, 2024

TRY Currency History

The Turkish Lira was created in January 2006. The table below shows the history of currencies that ultimately became the Turkish Lira.

Currency Active Replaced By
Turkish lira (TRL) January 1843 to December 2005 TRY