🇹🇷 Turkish Lira (TRY) TradingHours.com

TRY Currency Demographics

The primary country using the Turkish Lira is Turkey.

The currency code for the Turkish Lira is "TRY". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 949.

There are approximately 85,042,736 people around the world who use the Turkish Lira. The Turkish Lira is the #17 most used widely currency is the world.

85,042,736 user population
Ranked #17 in the world

TRY Exchange Rates

1 Turkish Lira equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.075

Inverse: 13.29
Euro

€0.049

Inverse: 20.42
British Pound

£0.043

Inverse: 23.25
Indian Rupee

₹4.34

Inverse: 0.23
Japanese Yen

¥6.94

Inverse: 0.14
US Dollar

$0.053

Inverse: 18.80

† Rates last updated at 30 minutes ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

TRY Currency Facts

TRY Details

ISO 4217 CodeTRY
ISO 4217 Number949
Unit NameLira
SymbolN.a.
Currency NicknamesKağıt, Mangır, Papel

TRY Denominations

Minor Unit Namekuruş
Minor Unit Symbol Kr
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotes5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200
Rarely Used BanknotesN.a.
Frequently Used Coins1, 5Kr, 10Kr, 25Kr, 50Kr
Rarely Used Coins1Kr

TRY Issuance

Central BankCentral Bank of the Republic of Turkey
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.tcmb.gov.tr

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population85,042,736 people
Population Rank#17
TRY Inflation Rate19.60%
Inflation Rank#9

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2023 TRY Currency Holidays

Name Date
New Year's Day Sunday, January 1, 2023 (past)
Ramadan Thursday, April 20, 2023
Ramadan Friday, April 21, 2023
Children's Day Sunday, April 23, 2023
Labor Day Monday, May 1, 2023
Commemoration of Ataturk, Youth and Sports Day Friday, May 19, 2023
Eid al-Adha Tuesday, June 27, 2023
Eid al-Adha Wednesday, June 28, 2023
Eid al-Adha Thursday, June 29, 2023
Eid al-Adha Friday, June 30, 2023
National Day Wednesday, August 30, 2023
Republic Day Saturday, October 28, 2023
Republic Day Sunday, October 29, 2023

TRY Currency History

The Turkish Lira was created in January 2006. The table below shows the history of currencies that ultimately became the Turkish Lira.

Currency Active Replaced By
Turkish lira (TRL) January 1843 to December 2005 TRY