Current time:

New York April 13, 12:06 pm
London April 13, 5:06 pm
Hong Kong April 14, 12:06 am
Sydney April 14, 2:06 am

🇺🇸 US Dollar (USD) TradingHours.com

USD Currency Demographics

The primary country using the US Dollar is United States. The US Dollar is also used in American Samoa, Barbados, Bermuda, Ecuador, Micronesia, and 13 others.

The currency code for the US Dollar is "USD". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 840. The currency symbol for the Dollar is "$".

There are approximately 395,765,311 people around the world who use the US Dollar. The US Dollar is the #3 most used widely currency is the world.

395,765,311 user population
Ranked #3 in the world

USD Exchange Rates

1 US Dollar equals:

Australian Dollar

$1.54

Inverse: $0.65
Canadian Dollar

$1.38

Inverse: $0.73
Euro

€0.94

Inverse: $1.067
British Pound

£0.80

Inverse: $1.25
Indian Rupee

₹83.61

Inverse: $0.012
Japanese Yen

¥153.27

Inverse: $0.0065

† Rates last updated at 11 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

USD Currency Facts

USD Details

ISO 4217 CodeUSD
ISO 4217 Number840
Unit NameDollar
Symbol$
Currency Nicknamesgreenback, buck, green, dough, smacker, bones, dead presidents, scrillas, paper

USD Denominations

Minor Unit Namecent
Minor Unit Symbol ¢
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotes$1, $5, $10, $20, $50, $100
Rarely Used Banknotes$2
Frequently Used Coins1¢, 5¢, 10¢, 25¢
Rarely Used Coins$1, 50¢

USD Issuance

Central BankFederal Reserve Bank
Central Bank Websitehttps://www.federalreserve.gov/

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population395,765,311 people
Population Rank#3
USD Inflation Rate8.0028%
Inflation Rank#66

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2024 USD Currency Holidays

Name Date
New Year's Day Monday, January 1, 2024 (past)
Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr Monday, January 15, 2024 (past)
Washington's Birthday Monday, February 19, 2024 (past)
Memorial Day Monday, May 27, 2024
Juneteenth Wednesday, June 19, 2024
Independence Day Thursday, July 4, 2024
Labor Day Monday, September 2, 2024
Columbus Day Monday, October 14, 2024
Veterans Day Monday, November 11, 2024
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 28, 2024
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25, 2024

USD Currency History

The table below shows the history of currencies that ultimately became the US Dollar.

Currency Active Replaced By
Zimbabwean dollar (ZWL) February 2009 to April 2009 USD
Zimbabwean dollar (ZWR) August 2008 to February 2009 ZWL
Zimbabwean dollar (ZWN) August 2006 to July 2008 ZWR
Zimbabwean dollar (ZWD) April 1980 to July 2006 ZWN
Ecuadorian sucre (ECS) January 1884 to February 2000 USD
Rhodesian dollar (ZWC) February 1970 to December 1980 ZWD
Portuguese Timorese escudo (TPE) January 1959 to December 1976 USD