Current time:

New York September 22, 12:05 pm
London September 22, 5:05 pm
Hong Kong September 23, 12:05 am
Sydney September 23, 2:05 am

🇬🇧 British Pound (GBP) TradingHours.com

GBP Currency Demographics

The primary country using the British Pound is United Kingdom. The British Pound is also used in Guernsey, Isle of Man, and Jersey.

The currency code for the British Pound is "GBP". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 826. The currency symbol for the Pound is "£".

There are approximately 67,055,930 people around the world who use the British Pound. The British Pound is the #21 most used widely currency is the world.

67,055,930 user population
Ranked #21 in the world

GBP Exchange Rates

1 British Pound equals:

Australian Dollar

$1.91

Inverse: £0.52
Canadian Dollar

$1.65

Inverse: £0.60
Euro

€1.15

Inverse: £0.87
Indian Rupee

₹101.84

Inverse: £0.0098
Japanese Yen

¥181.85

Inverse: £0.0055
US Dollar

$1.23

Inverse: £0.81

† Rates last updated at 11 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

GBP Currency Facts

GBP Details

ISO 4217 CodeGBP
ISO 4217 Number826
Unit NamePound
Symbol£
Currency NicknamesPound Sterling, Sterling, Quid, Nicker

GBP Denominations

Minor Unit Namepenny
Minor Unit Symbol p
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotes£5, £10, £20, £50
Rarely Used Banknotes£100
Frequently Used Coins£1, £2, 1p, 2p, 5p, 10p, 20p, 50p
Rarely Used CoinsN.a.

GBP Issuance

Central BankBank of England
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.bankofengland.co.uk

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population67,055,930 people
Population Rank#21
GBP Inflation Rate7.92%
Inflation Rank#64

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2023 GBP Currency Holidays

Name Date
New Year's Day Monday, January 2, 2023 (past)
Good Friday Friday, April 7, 2023 (past)
Easter Monday, April 10, 2023 (past)
Bank Holiday Monday, May 1, 2023 (past)
Bank Holiday Monday, May 8, 2023 (past)
Bank Holiday Monday, May 29, 2023 (past)
Bank Holiday Monday, August 28, 2023 (past)
Christmas Day Monday, December 25, 2023
Boxing Day Tuesday, December 26, 2023