Current time:

New York June 15, 7:28 pm
London June 16, 12:28 am
Shanghai June 16, 7:28 am
Hong Kong June 16, 7:28 am

🇨🇳 Chinese Yuan Renminbi (CNY) TradingHours.com

CNY Currency Demographics

The primary country using the Chinese Yuan Renminbi is China.

The currency code for the Chinese Yuan Renminbi is "CNY". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 156. The currency symbol for the Yuan is "¥".

There are approximately 1,412,175,000 people around the world who use the Chinese Yuan Renminbi. The Chinese Yuan Renminbi is the #2 most used widely currency is the world.

1,412,175,000 user population
Ranked #2 in the world

CNY Exchange Rates

1 Chinese Yuan Renminbi equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.21

Inverse: ¥4.79
Euro

€0.13

Inverse: ¥7.78
British Pound

£0.11

Inverse: ¥9.19
Indian Rupee

₹11.52

Inverse: ¥0.087
Japanese Yen

¥21.70

Inverse: ¥0.046
US Dollar

$0.14

Inverse: ¥7.26

† Rates last updated at 6 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

CNY Currency Facts

CNY Details

ISO 4217 CodeCNY
ISO 4217 Number156
Unit NameYuan
Symbol¥
Currency Nicknameskuài, Mao

CNY Denominations

Minor Unit Namejiao
Minor Unit Symbol
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotes¥5, ¥10, ¥20, ¥50, ¥100, ¥1
Rarely Used Banknotes¥2, 2角, 5角, 1角
Frequently Used Coins¥1, 5角, 1角
Rarely Used CoinsN.a.

CNY Issuance

Central BankPeople's Bank of China
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.pbc.gov.cn

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population1,412,175,000 people
Population Rank#2
CNY Inflation Rate1.97%
Inflation Rank#123

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2024 CNY Currency Holidays

Name Date
New Year's Day Monday, January 1, 2024 (past)
Working Day Sunday, February 4, 2024 (past)
Spring Festival Monday, February 12, 2024 (past)
Spring Festival Tuesday, February 13, 2024 (past)
Spring Festival Wednesday, February 14, 2024 (past)
Spring Festival Thursday, February 15, 2024 (past)
Spring Festival Friday, February 16, 2024 (past)
Working Day Sunday, February 18, 2024 (past)
Qingming Festival Thursday, April 4, 2024 (past)
Qingming Festival Friday, April 5, 2024 (past)
Working Day Sunday, April 7, 2024 (past)
Working Day Sunday, April 28, 2024 (past)
Labor Day Wednesday, May 1, 2024 (past)
Labor Day Thursday, May 2, 2024 (past)
Labor Day Friday, May 3, 2024 (past)
Working Day Saturday, May 11, 2024 (past)
Dragon Boat Festival Monday, June 10, 2024 (past)
Working Day Saturday, September 14, 2024
Mid-Autumn Festival Monday, September 16, 2024
Mid-Autumn Festival Tuesday, September 17, 2024
Working Day Sunday, September 29, 2024
National Day Tuesday, October 1, 2024
National Day Wednesday, October 2, 2024
National Day Thursday, October 3, 2024
National Day Friday, October 4, 2024
National Day Monday, October 7, 2024
Working Day Saturday, October 12, 2024