Current time:

New York May 24, 7:13 am
London May 24, 12:13 pm
Hong Kong May 24, 7:13 pm
Sydney May 24, 9:13 pm

🇲🇷 Mauritanian Ouguiya (MRU) TradingHours.com

MRU Currency Demographics

The primary country using the Mauritanian Ouguiya is Mauritania.

The currency code for the Mauritanian Ouguiya is "MRU". The ISO 4217 number for this currency is 929. The currency symbol for the Ouguiya is "UM".

There are approximately 4,736,139 people around the world who use the Mauritanian Ouguiya. The Mauritanian Ouguiya is the #104 most used widely currency is the world.

4,736,139 user population
Ranked #104 in the world

MRU Exchange Rates

1 Mauritanian Ouguiya equals:

Australian Dollar

$0.038

Inverse: UM26.23
Euro

€0.023

Inverse: UM42.96
British Pound

£0.020

Inverse: UM50.44
Indian Rupee

₹2.094

Inverse: UM0.48
Japanese Yen

¥3.95

Inverse: UM0.25
US Dollar

$0.025

Inverse: UM39.74

† Rates last updated at 6 hours ago

‡ Rates are the interbank rate and are only available on large transactions

MRU Currency Facts

MRU Details

ISO 4217 CodeMRU
ISO 4217 Number929
Unit NameOuguiya
SymbolUM
Currency NicknamesN.a.

MRU Denominations

Minor Unit Namekhoum
Minor Unit Symbol N.a.
Minor Units2
Frequently Used banknotesUM50, UM100, UM200, UM500, UM1000
Rarely Used BanknotesN.a.
Frequently Used CoinsUM1, UM5, UM10, UM20
Rarely Used Coins​1⁄5 ouguiya

MRU Issuance

Central BankBanque Centrale de Mauritanie
Central Bank Websitehttp://www.bcm.mr

World Bank Statistics

Estimated User Population4,736,139 people
Population Rank#104
MRU Inflation Rate9.53%
Inflation Rank#52

† Population and Inflation rate as based on data from the World Bank.

‡ Corrections or suggestions? Please contact us.

2024 MRU Currency Holidays

No holidays available

MRU Currency History

The Mauritanian Ouguiya was created in January 2018. The table below shows the history of currencies that ultimately became the Mauritanian Ouguiya.

Currency Active Replaced By
Mauritanian Ouguiya (MRO) June 1973 to January 2018 MRU